Tutorial-Adjusting Colour and Balancing Light.

November 10, 2013 § Leave a comment

This weeks tutorial showed us how to adjust light and colour settings effectively

In this session we were asked to critique the picture infront of us and view whether the colour balance was correct and at first it was hard to determine.  We were told about how our eyes tend to adjust to small differences in light and colour. We were then shown the RGB settings and found that the image was infact slightly too blue.

We then adjusted this by altering the curves and using the info tab to change the Red Green and Blue amounts down or up depending. To balance the colour I had to set some markers. I had to pick areas on the photograph to reference. To do this I used the eyedropper tool and the shift key to put a marker down on the colour I wanted to use to analyse. I dropped a marker on both of the models cheeks. One on a light skin tone, one on a darker skin tone and then I put a marker point on her jumper as a reference of a neutral colour.

I then selected the point marker tool in the curves menu. I brought up the points I had marked on the blue channel and clicked on the marks I had made. This created two marks on the curves menu. I then clicked in the middle of both points to make a neutral marker point and deleted the other two. I then used the RGB sliders below to create the right neutral balance.

Below is the original picture and the edited version. Now I have edited it I can see that the blue was slightly too high in the original image.

 

Original image

Image

 

 

Adjusted Image

Image

 

 

 

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Tutorial-Adjusting Colour and Balancing Light. at GCTgraphics.

meta